An Account That Still Has System Access May Be Deleted
Article ID: 159072
Article Last Modified on 11/1/2006
APPLIES TO
- Microsoft Windows NT Workstation 4.0 Developer Edition
- Microsoft Windows NT Server 4.0 Standard Edition
This article was previously published under Q159072
SYMPTOMS
If LsarRemoveAccountRights is used to remove all privileges from an
account, and no changes were made to the account's system access, the
account will be deleted. This deletion will occur even if the account still
has system access. The account should only be deleted if there are no
privileges and the account has no system access.
CAUSE
LsarRemoveAccountRights is not checking for system access unless system
access is changed. This will result in LsarRemoveAccountRights treating the
account as if it has no system access. Therefore, if all privileges are
removed, the account will be deleted.
STATUS
Microsoft has confirmed this to be a problem in Microsoft Windows NT
version 4.0.
This problem was corrected in the latest Microsoft Windows NT 4.0 U.S.
Service Pack. For information on obtaining the service pack, query on the
following word in the Microsoft Knowledge Base (without the spaces):
Additional query words: prodnt
Keywords: kbenv kbnetwork KB159072