Knowledge Base

XCLN: Saving an Encrypted Message to the IS Can Delete Content

Article ID: 157016

Article Last Modified on 10/28/2006


APPLIES TO


This article was previously published under Q157016

SYMPTOMS

If you save an encrypted message to the Microsoft Exchange Information Store (IS) twice, while the message is still open in the Microsoft Exchange client, the text in the body of the message might be deleted.

CAUSE

When you save an open, encrypted message to the IS, the body of the message is encrypted and then deleted. This change will not be reflected in the open message. If you perform another save while the message is still open, the now empty body of the message will be encrypted and re-written to the IS, causing the original message content to be deleted.

WORKAROUND

After you save an encrypted message, close the message window before saving it again.

STATUS

Microsoft has confirmed this to be a problem in the Microsoft Exchange clients, version 4.0, listed at the beginning of this article. This problem was corrected in Microsoft Exchange Server 4.0 U.S. Service Pack 4. For information on obtaining the service pack, query on the following word in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:

SERVPACK


Additional query words: Outlook

Keywords: kbusage KB157016