FIX: Checking Out .vbp Overwrites Unsaved Changes in Project
Article ID: 156878
Article Last Modified on 6/28/2004
APPLIES TO
- Microsoft Visual SourceSafe 4.0 Standard Edition
- Microsoft Visual SourceSafe 4.0a
- Microsoft Visual SourceSafe 5.0 Standard Edition
- Microsoft Visual SourceSafe 4.0 Standard Edition
- Microsoft Visual SourceSafe 4.0a
- Microsoft Visual SourceSafe 5.0 Standard Edition
- Microsoft Visual SourceSafe 5.0 Standard Edition
- Microsoft Visual Basic 4.0 16-bit Enterprise Edition
- Microsoft Visual Basic 4.0 32-Bit Enterprise Edition
This article was previously published under Q156878
SYMPTOMS
If you have checked out and modified files from a project that is under
SourceSafe control without checking out the .vbp file, unsaved changes to
those files will be erased without warning if you then check out the .VBP.
WORKAROUND
Either checkout the VBP file before modifying any file in the project or
save all modified files in the project before checking out the VBP file.
STATUS
Microsoft has confirmed this to be a problem in the Microsoft products
listed at the beginning of this article. This problem was corrected in
Visual SourceSafe version 6.0 for Windows.
Additional query words: module
Keywords: kbbug kbfix kbssafe600fix kbinterop KB156878