PRB: Rollback of Shared File Forces a Branch
Article ID: 156717
Article Last Modified on 5/4/2001
APPLIES TO
- Microsoft Visual SourceSafe 5.0 Standard Edition
- Microsoft Visual SourceSafe 6.0 Standard Edition
- Microsoft Visual SourceSafe 4.0 Standard Edition
- Microsoft Visual SourceSafe 4.0 Standard Edition
- Microsoft Visual SourceSafe 4.0a
- Microsoft Visual SourceSafe 4.0a
This article was previously published under Q156717
SYMPTOMS
When you perform a Rollback of a shared file, Visual SourceSafe will cause
the shared file to branch. This article describes how to reproduce this
behavior and how to avoid it.
RESOLUTION
The following procedure describes a workaround that will avoid branching a
shared file that is being rolled back:
- Open or switch to Microsoft Visual SourceSafe.
- Locate the file that needs to be rolled back and open its History
Window.
- Select the version to which you want to Rollback, and perform a Get
Close the History window.
- Using File Manager or Windows Explorer, move the file from step 3 to
a different directory.
- Switch to Visual SourceSafe, and check out the file that needs to be
rolled back.
- Using File Manager or Windows Explorer, move the file from step 3
back to its working directory, overwriting the checked-out file from
step 5.
- Switch to Visual SourceSafe, and check the file back in.
STATUS
This behavior is by design.
REFERENCES
For more information, please see the following articles in the Microsoft
Knowledge Base:
157082 FIX: Branch or Rollback of Shared File May Cause Corruption
157813 BUG: Rollback of Shared File Rolls to Unexpected Version
Keywords: kbprb KB156717