Knowledge Base

Changing Access Rights for a User Changes Group Rights

Article ID: 155728

Article Last Modified on 11/15/2006


APPLIES TO


This article was previously published under Q155728

SYMPTOMS

When you are using the File And Printer Sharing For NetWare Networks service, changing the share access rights for a user also changes the rights for a group with the same name.

CAUSE

Although users and groups are listed separately in the access control list for the share, only the name is referenced when a change is made. If you change the access rights for a user, the access rights for a group with the same name are changed. If you change the access rights for a group, the access rights for a user with the same name are changed.

RESOLUTION

To work around this behavior, change the name of a group or user so there are no duplicate names.

Keywords: kb3rdpartynetclient KB155728