SMS: Client Does Not Deinstall for All Users
Article ID: 154752
Article Last Modified on 10/27/2006
APPLIES TO
- Microsoft Systems Management Server 1.0 Standard Edition
- Microsoft Systems Management Server 1.1 Standard Edition
- Microsoft Systems Management Server 1.2 Standard Edition
This article was previously published under Q154752
SYMPTOMS
On a Windows NT or Windows 95 client that is used by multiple users
(multiple logons and profiles), when Systems Management Server is
deinstalled using Deinstal.bat, CLI_NT /R, or CLI_DOS /R, the Systems
Management Server files are removed, but Systems Management Server
references in the registry are left for all users other than the one that
ran the deinstall.
This causes the following two problems for the user profiles that did not
run the deinstallation program:
CAUSE
Systems Management Server does not currently support multiple users on one
computer.
WORKAROUND
Each user needs to run the deinstallation program individually.
STATUS
Microsoft has confirmed this to be a problem in Systems Management Server
versions 1.0, 1.1, and 1.2. We are researching this problem and will post
new information here in the Microsoft Knowledge Base as it becomes
available.
Additional query words: prodsms
Keywords: kbarttypeinf kbnetwork kbsetup KB154752