XADM: Options in Admin or User Manager May Be Overwritten
Article ID: 154686
Article Last Modified on 10/28/2006
APPLIES TO
- Microsoft Exchange Server 4.0 Standard Edition
This article was previously published under Q154686
SYMPTOMS
General settings changed in Exchange on the Options menu in User Manager
for Domains may be overwritten by the Microsoft Exchange Administrator
program. Auto-naming rules and permissions settings changed in the
Administrator program in the Options dialog box under Tools may be
overwritten by User Manager.
CAUSE
Both Administrator and User Manager save settings on exiting regardless of
whether changes are made or not. This allows cached information in one of
the applications to overwrite changes that may have been made by the other.
STATUS
Microsoft has confirmed this to be a problem in Microsoft Exchange Server
version 4.0. This problem was corrected in the latest Microsoft Exchange
Service Pack. For information on obtaining the Service Pack, query on the
following word in the Microsoft Knowledge Base (without the spaces):
Additional query words: autonaming
Keywords: kbusage KB154686