Knowledge Base

SMS: Remote Control "Permission Required" Behavior

Article ID: 154536

Article Last Modified on 10/27/2006


APPLIES TO


This article was previously published under Q154536

SUMMARY

In Systems Management Server versions 1.0 and 1.1, a client only asks you once if you will permit the console to connect. This is true for each Helpdesk option (that is, Viewing, Reboot, and so forth).

In Systems Management Server version 1.2, each time the server attempts to connect to a client, you are prompted to allow the console to connect.

MORE INFORMATION

In Systems Management Server versions 1.0 and 1.1, if the Remote Control Options on a client are set to Permission Required, and permission is granted once, subsequent attempts to remotely control the computer do not require permission until Windows is exited and restarted.

The design was changed in Systems Management Server 1.2. When the Permission Required option is enabled, every attempt to initiate a Remote Control session generates a prompt asking if you want to allow Remote Control.

Additional query words: prodsms

Keywords: kbremoteprog kbtshoot kbusage KB154536