Microsoft Knowledge Base |
|
Filled Formulas Changed By Delete and Undo Commands |
|
|
Last reviewed: September 13, 1996
Article ID: Q154147 |
|
The information in this article applies to:
SYMPTOMSWhen you use the fill down or fill across feature with a formula or function, and if you delete and then restore the rows or columns referred to by the formula or function, the contents of the formula may be altered incorrectly. This behavior occurs under certain specific conditions when you use the Delete and Undo commands on the Edit menu.
CAUSEWhen you delete columns or rows and then restore them with the Undo command, the restored formulas refer to the last columns or rows in the sheet. This behavior occurs with any function or formula when the following conditions are met:
WORKAROUNDTo avoid this problem, use either of the following methods: Method 1: Delete cells rather than entire rows or columns. Method 2: Copy and then paste the formulas in individual cells or type each formula individually. STATUSMicrosoft has confirmed this to be a problem in the Microsoft products listed at the beginning of this article. We are researching this problem and will post new information here in the Microsoft Knowledge Base as it becomes available.
|
|
KBCategory: kbusage
©1997 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved. Legal Notices. |