Knowledge Base

How To Perform a RollBack Without Losing History

Article ID: 153493

Article Last Modified on 7/1/2004


APPLIES TO


This article was previously published under Q153493

SUMMARY

This article demonstrates how to return files to a particular version without losing the individual file history. If you use the Rollback feature of SourceSafe or Visual SourceSafe, you lose the history of the file.

MORE INFORMATION

Step-by-Step Procedures

  1. Perform a Get on the version you want to roll back to in the working directory of the project.
  2. Highlight the latest version of the file in the Visual SourceSafe Explorer, and hold the SHIFT key down while clicking CheckOut. Select the "Do not get local copy" option. This checks out the files but does not Get them to the working directory.
  3. Check in the files that are checked out, and SourceSafe will bring in the older version. The history of the files will remain intact.

Keywords: kbhowto KB153493