SMS Client Files Not Removed After Upgrade
Article ID: 153287
Article Last Modified on 10/27/2006
APPLIES TO
- Microsoft Systems Management Server 1.0 Standard Edition
- Microsoft Systems Management Server 1.1 Standard Edition
- Microsoft Systems Management Server 1.2 Standard Edition
This article was previously published under Q153287
SYMPTOMS
A client deinstall does not remove all of the SMS client files.
CAUSE
If the client has been upgraded the old cl_xx.txt and cl_xx.mod files are
not removed. When a deinstall is initiated SMS may find the old .txt and
.mod files and use those to remove the client files. SMS should instead use
the new client's .txt and .mod files to remove any client files.
For instance, if the client was upgraded from Windows 95 to Windows NT, the
\Ms\Sms\Data directory will still have the CL_W95.txt and CL_W95.mod files
along with the CL_NT.txt and CL_NT.mod files. If the client is then
deinstalled SMS may use the CL_W95.txt and CL_W95.mod for the remove file
list instead of CL_NT.txt and CL_NT.MoD.
RESOLUTION
Manually delete the old client's .txt and .mod files. This has been fixed
in 1.2. The client upgrade will now delete the old .txt and .mod files as
part of the upgrade.
STATUS
Microsoft has confirmed this to be a problem in Systems Management Server
version 1.1. It has been fixed in Systems Management Server version 1.2.
Additional query words: prodsms
Keywords: kbarttypeinf kbnetwork kbsetup KB153287