This page describes the Restart and Reset Menu in Setup
Mode.
Restart and Reset Menu Selection
The Restart and Reset Menu option allows you to restart the
ViewStation from the Main Menu. This closes all network connections
and then restarts with the configuration you specify (RAM or
ROM/Network). Restarting the ViewStation is required for registering
some functions, like the IP address, entered from Setup Mode.
When you click on the Restart and Reset Menu field, a submenu
appears with several options. 
The Restart ViewStation from current RAM image option
restarts the ViewStation using the server code located in its RAM
memory. This selection is always present.
The Restart ViewStation from ROM/Network option goes
to the boot file directory specified in the Startup Options Menu, either
the ROM (the flashPROM board) or the Network, and loads the server code
again, and then runs from the new code. In each case, this is a
complete restart, just as if you had turned the ViewStation Off and On
again.
The Reset X Server option lets you reset the
ViewStation's server software. This command resets things the server
has set up, like running clients, loading fonts, or assigning root
window properties, but does not reset or reread internal server
settings, like the Reset Server Command file, the Startup Command file,
or the clients.config file. Refer to Startup and
Server Reset Files for more information.
Reset NVM to
Factory Defaults Selection
The Reset NVM to Factory Defaults selection allows you to change
your NVM settings to their original factory settings. This is a very
drastic step and will erase all your settings, including the
ViewStation's IP address. You would probably only do this if you were
moving the ViewStation to a new location or had some problem with
conflicting settings.
There are two fields which are not reset to "Factory
Defaults", but retain their current NVM values:
Screen Settings -
The current monitor settings are preserved.
Setup Mode Password -
This is changed by the procedure outlined below.
The Reset
NVM to Factory Defaults field is password protected. Clicking on
this field brings up a dialog box asking you to confirm this command
and giving you a warning message. Special considerations about changing
the password apply when you use the Reset NVM to Factory Defaults
field. This reset field is password protected, so you must enter the
password to execute the command. This resets the contents of NVM,
except for the password field (and the fields mentioned above).
If you want to clear the password, you must follow these steps:
Go to the User Preferences menu and use your password to edit the
password field
Enter an empty password (press the Return key) and
confirm your selection
Save the new (empty) password in NVM
Run the Reset NVM to
Factory Defaults command.
This procedure will clear the password from NVM and let you
reset everything to factory defaults. You can also reset your NVM to
Factory Default settings from Monitor Mode with the "factory" command.
Restore Settings from NVM This selection lets you
reset your current NVM settings to the values you last Saved in NVM.
This is a convenient way to undo all the temporary changes you might
have made.
Return to Section Heading Page
Return to the Home Page
If you need more information than is available here, you can reach
HDS via email at info@hds.com, or
call us at 1.800.HDS.1551 in the USA, or at +610.277.8300 from outside
the US. For questions or problems regarding the HDS WWW page, contact
webmaster@hds.com.
© 1996 by HDS Network Systems
Inc.