This page describes the Setup Mode icons, the help screens, autostart
buttons, and other tools that make using Setup Mode easy.
Setup Mode Operation
The operation of Setup Mode is intuitive, with a Main Menu showing
buttons and boxes for ViewStation local clients and a Setup Options
button containing layers of menus offering you choices and editing
fields for other settings. Mouse movement selects different options and
the left mouse button clicks select an indicated button or option. The
selections are shown in reverse video and for important changes you are
asked to confirm your selections with another submenu. The discussion
that follows helps you understand the contents of the fields and what
selections are available. It can also help you see the forms addresses
must have, the range of values permitted for a particular field, and so
on.
Setup Mode Main Menu
Setup Mode is a Client application program (an X client) run
locally by the ViewStation. It is active all the time, acting either by
itself or concurrently with other clients. The only difference is that
Setup's window cannot be resized, though it can be moved or iconified
with a window manager client.
Setup Mode Heading Bar
The top bar of the Setup Mode Main Menu contains configuration
information about the ViewStation, including the monitor resolution,
installed memory, the firmware version, whether the ViewStation is
running from its flashPROM or from the network, and the assigned IP
address (after you have entered it and rebooted).
Setup Mode Selection Buttons
Setup Mode has a Main Menu containing buttons to select various
ViewStation clients, or to display information about the ViewStation.
Selecting the Setup Options button from the Main Menu brings other
pull-down menus onto the screen with more detailed information or
options. You select an item by moving the mouse cursor to the item,
which will be displayed in reverse video, and clicking on it with the
left mouse button.
Each selection from the Main Menu will be discussed, and the
pull-down menus shown with definitions and recommendations for settings
for each field. The Setup Mode Main Menu is shown below:
When you make changes to a Setup Mode field, in some cases
the change will be effective immediately, such as User Preference
items. In other cases, you must click on the Apply Changes button or
restart the ViewStation for the settings to take effect, as with
setting the IP address. The settings can be saved into Non Volatile
Memory (using the Save button) so they are always available on power up.
A message line at the bottom of the Setup Mode window tells
you what is necessary to make the changes effective, whether clicking on
the Apply Changes button or restarting the ViewStation. A message also
appears next to some fields indicating "At restart: <this value>".
Setup Mode Function Buttons
The cluster of buttons in the lower right corner of the Main Menu
let you execute various functions, which are described below in more
detail.
The Apply button executes the changes you have made so
they are effective immediately. Some settings, like the IP address,
are only effective after you restart the ViewStation. The required
action is shown on the bottom of the Main Menu. This button applies
the changes, but you also may want to save them in NVM. If you don't
save them, these applied settings will stay set only until you turn the
ViewStation off.
The Save button applies the changes and saves the
settings you have made in Setup Mode into the ViewStation's Non
Volatile Memory. These settings will be used whenever you turn the
ViewStation on. You are asked to confirm this action with another
pop-up menu. If you use the remote configuration feature, some NVM
settings will be set from the Configuration file. These settings and
the user settings will be merged at powerup, with the config file's
settings over riding the corresponding NVM settings.
The Undo button allows you to remove any changes
you've made in Setup Mode since your last Save in NVM or Apply Changes
operation and restores the settings which were in effect before you
began your current Setup Mode session. You are asked to confirm this
action with another pop-up dialog.
The Exit button executes an Undo Changes command and
allows you to exit the Setup Mode client and return to your other
processes. When you exit Setup, the Setup icon again returns to the
lower right part of the screen. Note that if your window manager uses
icons as part of its graphical interface, the ViewStation's Setup Mode
will be treated like any other X client, with a header bar and icon.
In that case, you probably won't want to exit Setup Mode from this
menu, but just iconify it.
The Help button shows you how to use the Help
function. If you want more information about any button or function,
move the pointer to the button and press the right mouse button. A
message will appear describing the button you've selected.
The Restart button terminates all the ViewStation's
current clients and starts the ViewStation again. A pop-up dialog asks
you to confirm the selection.
The Reboot button reboots the ViewStation, either from
flashPROM or from the Network, as you have specified in the Startup
Options menu. A pop-up dialog asks you to confirm the selection. A more
complete set of restart and reboot options, including ROM or Network
restarts is available from the Restart and Reset menu shown below from
the Setup Options menu.
Return to Section Heading Page
Return to the Home Page
If you need more information than is available here, you can reach
HDS via email at info@hds.com, or
call us at 1.800.HDS.1551 in the USA, or at +610.277.8300 from outside
the US. For questions or problems regarding the HDS WWW page, contact
webmaster@hds.com.
© 1996 by HDS Network Systems
Inc.