Chapter 6.  Editing Features

This chapter describes the editing features of SlickEdit Core that are not specific to a particular language.

Notifications

To help you better understand what's going on in the editor, SlickEdit Core displays notification icons in the status area (see image, below). A pop-up message describing the activity is briefly displayed.

Icons are displayed for the following activities:

  • Feature Notifications - uses the document icon to inform you about automatic editing operations that were performed by the editor, including features like Syntax Expansion and Comment Wrapping. Icons in the pop-up provide access to the options screen and the help for that feature.

  • Background Processes - uses the clock icon to notify you when SlickEdit Core is performing operations in the background. This helps you correlate high levels of system activity with otherwise invisible operations in the editor.

  • Warning Notifications - uses an exclamation point in a yellow triangle icon to notify you about important information. Where Feature Notifications provide helpful information about what the editor is doing, Warning Notifications are about the result of operations. Consequently, you can't disable the Warning Notifications.

For information on configuring Notifications, including a description of the notification levels, see Notification Options.

Feature Notifications

SlickEdit Core offers five different levels of notifications. Some notification mechanisms are more disruptive than others and are useful for features that have more surprising results. Once you are used to the feature, you can select a different, less disruptive notification or turn off notifications completely.

Notification View

Regardless of the notification level selected, all feature notifications are added to the Notification tool window. To view this tool window, select Window → Show View → Other , then expand SlickEdit and select Notifications.

A list of all feature notifications for the current editing session in the current workspace is displayed. Each line includes additional information, such as when the feature was activated and the file and line number where changes were made. Selecting a notification in the list displays more information about the feature. You are also be provided with buttons to configure the feature or read more about it in the help documentation. There is also a button to configure notification settings for all features. If you wish to clear all notifications in the tool window, use the right-most button.